Warning: Illegal string offset 'url' in /home/bluekeyl/public_html/wordpress/newmarketvirginia.com/wp-content/themes/NewMarket/functions.php on line 240

Warning: Illegal string offset 'alt' in /home/bluekeyl/public_html/wordpress/newmarketvirginia.com/wp-content/themes/NewMarket/functions.php on line 240

The purpose of the Planning Commission is to assist the Town Council to anticipate and guide future growth, development and change by preparing plans, ordinances, studies, reports and other documents for consideration by the Town Council.

The New Market Planning Commission meets the 1st Monday of each quarter at 7:30 pm in the Council Chambers of the Arthur L. Hildreth, Jr., Municipal Building. (click below to view agenda).

*The Planning Commission will hold a joint public hearing with the New Market Town Council on Monday, December 3, 2018 at 7:30 p.m.  Click below to view agenda for the joint public hearing and to view the Public Hearing notice.

View:  Agenda for Joint Public Hearing 12-3-18

View:  Notice of Public Hearing 204 E Old Cross Road

View: December 3, 2018 Planning Commission  Meeting Agenda

The Town of New Market is searching for a local resident to serve on the Planning Commission.  The Planning Commission meets on a quarterly basis as well as an “as needed” basis. The Planning Commission is appointed by Town Council and serves 4 year terms. They work closely with the Town Council to decide where and how growth and development will occur within the community. The Commission works on the comprehensive plan, site plans for commercial development, subdivision plats for residential developments and reviews land use request applications in which they make recommendations relating to approval or denial to the Town Council.  To apply, pick up an application at the Town Office or click the link below to download the application.  Applications should be returned to the Town Office.

Click here for volunteer application


Planning Commission members:

  • George Daugharty, Chairman
  • Tom Linski, Jr., Vice Chairman
  • Greg Bair
  • Sonny Mongold
  • Tim Palmer
  • Danny Rice
  • Bob King