1 New Market Planning Commission

# 2 January 8, 2024

## CALL TO ORDER AND ESTABLISHMENT OF QUORUM

- 4 The regular meeting of the New Market Planning Commission was held on Monday, January 8, 2024 at
- 5 6:30 p.m. The following Planning Commission members were in attendance: Chairman Larry Hale,
- 6 Sherri Erbaugh, Sonny Mongold, Bob King, George Daugharty, Harry Wine, Jr. and Tom Linski, Jr.

- Mr. Hale opened the meeting at 6:30 p.m. and established a quorum with six members present.
- 9 Mr. Hale led all in attendance in the reciting of the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Mr. Hale entertained a motion to approve the minutes. Mr. Linski made a motion to approve the minutes as written. Mrs. Erbaugh seconded the motion. The motion passed with a unanimous voice vote 6-0.

**PUBLIC HEARING:** none

### OLD BUSINESS

Mr. Garrison gave a report on the permits that have been processed. There were three permits, one at East Old Cross for a front porch rebuild, an accessory building at 9589 Shenandoah Drive, and another front porch permit at 411 West Old Cross Road. Mr. Garrison reported that the Village at Smith Creek developers are working on with obtaining the necessary permits, and the Town is overviewing their plans, as well. Mr. King inquired if the retention pond is required, and Mr. Garrison stated that it is required. Mr. Garrison stated that there is a current HOA that will need to be revised, and the proper bonds secured.

### **NEW BUSINESS**

The only action item on the agenda was the annual selection of Planning Commission Officers to include the Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and Secretary. Mr. Hale opened the floor for nominations. Mr. Daugharty nominated Mr. Larry Hale for Chairman, and Mrs. Erbaugh seconded the nomination. With a unanimous vote of 6-0, Mr. Larry Hale is selected as the Planning Commission Chairman for 2024. For the office of Vice President, Mr. Daugharty nominated Mrs. Sherri Erbaugh, and Mr. Mongold seconded the nomination. With a unanimous 6-0 vote, Mrs. Sherri Erbaugh is selected as the Planning Commission Vice President for 2024. For the Secretary position, Mr. Mongold nominated Mrs. Amber Smoot, and Mr. Daugharty seconded the nomination. With a unanimous vote of 6-0, Mrs. Amber Smoot will be the Planning Commission Secretary for 2024.

Mr. Daugharty inquired about the property off Clicks Lane, in reference to the Voluntary Settlement Agreement. Mr. Garrison reported that there has not been any changes, but expects to see more movement this year. Mr. Mongold inquired about the possibility of an investigation on how the information became misinterpreted. Mr. Garrison explained the road blocks with the VSA's zoning language of low density cluster development and that wording is in our Comprehensive Plan. In the Comprehensive Plan, it defines what that means. Mr. Garrison explained what this would mean for the development of that property. Mr. Mongold stated that to his knowledge during the agreement of the

VSA, there wasn't any language in the agreement about the zoning. Mr. Garrison stated he had heard that before, but has not seen anything to reflect that.

Mr. Linski asked if Mr. Garrison knew how much of the land was in the flood plane. He stated he did not know the answer to that question. Mr. King asked if the Comprehensive Plan were to be modified today, would the VSA have to adhere to it. Mr. Garrison stated that it would not, as the VSA was agreed upon with the Comprehensive Plan of 2012. Mr. Garrison said he has not given up, but that is what he was told.

Mr. Hale asked for an update on the Route 11 Sidewalk project. Mr. Garrison said that the project is finishing up some waivers due to some right of ways, and a concern about a power pole that would need to be relocated or worked around. Mr. Garrison stated the goal was to bid the project in late spring or early summer. Mr. Garrison did confirm that Council has approved money in the budget for the project.

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to discuss, at 6:47 p.m., Mr. Daugharty made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Wine seconded the motion which passed on a unanimous 6-0 voice vote.

Amber Smoot, Secretary